The European Open Science Cloud (EOSC), as a virtual environment for the storage, sharing, and reuse of research data, in accordance with the resolutions of the Council of the European Union of March 14, May 18 and May 29, 2018 EOSC is not a new infrastructure or software environment, but a process to make European research data more accessible through a diverse ecosystem of interconnected services and infrastructures.

The EOSC implementation model is tripartite. On the one hand, the European Commission, through the Horizon Europe Research Infrastructures program, destination 2, will finance a set of actions for the creation of policies, initiatives, services, environments and good practices in the field of research data. in open. On the other hand, the EOSC Association brings together more than 230 (as of November 2021) mostly European institutions that represent the community that builds the EOSC environment. Finally, the countries are represented through the Steering Board, an expert group with annual renewal to guarantee coordination between the commission and the member states.

Currently, there are 15 Spanish centers that are members of the EOSC association:

  • Spanish National Research Council (CSIC) – Mandated Member.
  • Barcelona Supercomputing Center – Centro Nacional de Supercomputación (BSC-CNS)
  • Centro de Investigación Ecológica y Aplicaciones Forestales (CREAF)
  • Centro de Investigaciones Energéticas, Medioambientales y Tecnológicas (CIEMAT)
  • Consorcio para la Construcción, Equipamiento y Explotación del Laboratorio de Luz de Sincrotrón (ALBA-CELLS)
  • e-Science and Technology European Infrastructure for Biodiversity and Ecosystem Research (LifeWatch ERIC)
  • Entidad pública empresarial (
  • Fundación Española para la Ciencia y la Tecnología (FECYT)
  • Fundación Para La Investigación Biomédica Del Hospital Universitario La Paz (IdiPAZ)
  • Fundacion Publica Gallega Centro Tecnológico de Supercomputación de Galicia (CESGA)
  • Universidad De Oviedo/ University Of Oviedo (UNIOVI)
  • Universidad Politécnica de Madrid (UPM)
  • Universidade da Coruña (UDC)
  • Universidade de Vigo (UVigo)
  • Universitat Politècnica de València (UPV)

In addition, there are 14 Spanish centers with observer status:

  • Basque Center For Applied Mathematics (BCAM)
  • Conferencia de Rectores de las Universidades Españolas (CRUE)
  • Consorci de Serveis Universitaris de Catalunya (CSUC)
  • Consorcio para el Diseño, la construcción, el equipamiento y la explotación del Centro de Láseres Pulsados Ulstracortos Ultraintensos (CLPU)
  • Fundación Centro de Supercomputación de Castilla y León (SCAYLE)
  • Institute of Biomedicine of Seville (IBiS)
  • Navarra de Servicios y Tecnologías S.A. (Nasertic)
  • OpenNebula Systems SL (OpenNebula)
  • Universidad de Alicante (UA)
  • Universidad de Cantabria (UC)
  • Universidad de Córdoba (UCO)
  • Universidad de Granada (UGR)
  • Universidad Internacional Isabel I de Castilla (UI1)
  • Universidad Rey Juan Carlos (URJC)

The EOSC-A has set up 13 Working Groups or Task Forces that act as an expert group in defining different aspects related to the construction of the EOSC. In a large part of them, there are representatives of Spanish centers (indicated with an asterisk)

European Science Cluster of Astronomy & Particle physics ESFRI research infrastructures (ESCAPE)


ENVironmental Research Infrastructures building Fair services Accessible for society, Innovation and Research (ENVRI-FAIR)


EOSC Photon and Neutron Data Services (EXPANDS)


REsearch LIfecycle mAnagemeNt for Earth Science Communities and CopErnicus users in EOSC (RELIANCE)


Fostering FAIR Data Practices in Europe (FAIRsFAIR)


EGI-ACE: Advanced Computing for EOSC


Integrating and managing services for the European Open Science Cloud (EOSC-Future)


Memorandum of Understanding of the EOSC co-programmed Partnership


Strategic Research and Innovation Agenda (SRIA) del European Open Science Cloud (EOSC)


Draft proposal for the European Open Science Cloud (EOSC) Partnership

Asociación EOSC